Learning & Development

There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS split into two parts


Primary Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development 

Secondary Areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding of the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

All of these areas are important and are delivered through planned, purposeful play with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities. Within the Cherry Childcare curriculum we incorporate various key elements from a range of learning systems, for example:

  • We believe in the importance of good behaviour building Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural values  - right/wrong, caring, sharing, kindness, consideration - Establishing positive images and respect for other people and society e.g. Policemen, Firemen, Doctors.

  • Communication, Language & Literacy are developed using “Phonics”.  This is consistent with the teaching in many local schools and we encourage parents to support the children by using Phonic materials with their children at home.

  • Each nursery has an ICT Suite for the children's use to develop their ICT skills.  This is loaded with a range of educational software and is accessible throughout the day as well as being used in small group sessions.

Neat Storage Boxes